What the Fuck Am I Doing?

I wish I knew. The last two years have been a whirlwind for me personally. I’m not boring anyone with the details, but the bottom line is I live in China now, and the 2016 election has made me question everything I valued.

The writer’s block I’ve experienced since November last year has been terrible, but I’ve finally got some ideas and some things I want to write about.

I hope to start this site as an excuse to get writing and write about things I love. Hopefully, I’ll write about some television, some movies, some thoughts on teaching in China, and yes…even reviewing wrestling.

Just to be clear, I have no interest in following the trials and tribulations of numerous wrestling companies across the globe. I am interested in writing about individual wrestlers and matches. I have very conflicted feelings about the sport as an institution, but I still respect the wrestlers and many of the individuals involved. When it comes to wrestling, I have a couple of ground rules:

1.) No WWE. Definitely have a major moral quandry with them and have no interest in engaging in the day-to-day bullshit of engaging with anything they do.

2.) No PBP. Some match reviews may be five words. Some may be 500, and I may talk about other things during a match review. We’ll see how it goes.

3.) I’m reviewing matches I’m genuinely interested in. That means the odds of a Sami Callihan or Cody Rhodes match being reviewed by me are about 1 in a million. Also, don’t expect for me to review NJPW main event Meltzer wankfests either.

4.) I may do things besides reviews. My website about covering pro wrestling in terms of politics and other social issues pertinent to the world is likely not going to happen, so I’m going to play around with those ideas here. And I’ll also be talking about teaching as well. Something for everyone.

5.)Like all my blog ideas, I may lose interest and stop. It’s happened before and it may happen again.

 

Leave a Reply

